Speaker Series

GohmanOur speaker series give students and the campus community the opportunity to hear from high caliber academics and business leaders on topics related to individual liberty, economic freedom, principled entrepreneurship, etc.

Mercer students, faculty and the local business community are all invited to attend.



Professor of Economics, Southern Methodist University

“Socialism Sucks: Two Economists Drink their way Through the Unfree World”

February 24, 2020, 6:00 pm Willet Science Center Auditorium

Center for the Study of Economic and Liberty: The Future of Economic Freedom Across the World Panel Jacek Spendel, Antonio Saravia and Andrés Marroquin. February 3, 6:00 pm Willet Science Auditorium. Mercer University, School of Business, Center for the Study of Economics and Liberty.

Jacek Spendel (Liberty International), Antonio Saravia and Andrés Marroquín

Panel “The Future of Economic Freedom Across the World”

February 3, 2020, 6:00 pm Willet Science Center Auditorium

Poster. Is social justice just? Debate. Dr. Vasile Stanescu, Dr. Antonio Saravia. October 23 6:00 pm Medical Auditorium.

Antonio Saravia and Vas Stanescu

Debate “Is Social Justice Just?”

October 23, 2019, 6 pm Medical Auditorium

Watch the debate here.

Director, The Fund for American Studies

“The Economics of Terrorism with Economic Freedom as the Counter-Measure”

October 16, 2019, 6:00 pm Medical Auditorium

Professor of Economics, George Mason University

“Open Borders: The Science and Ethics of Immigration”

September 26, 2019, 6:00 pm Medical Auditorium

Watch the lecture here.

Past Speakers

Ed Lopez Western Carolina University
Lawrence Reed Foundation for Economic Education
Yaron Brook Ayn Rand Institute
Derek Yonai Emporia State University
Roy Fickling Fickling & Company, Inc.
George Crowley Troy University
David Skarbek Brown University
Benjamin Powell Texas Tech University
Larry White George Mason University
Aaron Smith Ayn Rand Institute
Robert Lawson Southern Methodist University
Eric Graf Universidad Francisco Marroquín
Christopher Lingle Universidad Francisco Marroquín
Scott Cunningham Baylor University
Scott Winship Manhattan Institute
Steve Horwitz Ball State University
Diana Furchtgott-Roth Manhattan Institute
Raj Bhala The University of Kansas
Gonzalo Sánchez de Lozada Former President of Bolivia
Walter Block Loyola University of New Orleans
Ataman Ozyildirim The Conference Board
Steve Gohmann University of Louisville